A Brief Overview


Today, St. Aloysius' College, with a population of over 1,600 students and a Staff of over 200 teachers and administration officials, consists of three sections:

Primary School

The Primary School, for boys only, is located in Balzan and was previously Stella Maris School, which was run by the Franciscan Missionaries of Mary. Students are admitted to the Primary School in Kindergarten 2 or Year 1 through the ballot system and go on directly to Secondary Education after Year 6.

Secondary School

The Secondary School, for boys only, offers a five-year course, from Form 1 to Form 5, after which students sit the Malta Secondary Education Certificate (MATSEC) Examination and the Oxford/London General Certificate of Education (GCE) Examination at Ordinary Level.

The old College building, which houses the Secondary section, includes four science laboratories, a media room, two computer rooms, a bookshop, the library and the theatre hall.

Sixth Form

The co-educational Sixth Form is a two-year programme where students are prepared for the University of Malta Matriculation Examination at Advanced and Intermediate levels, as well as for examinations by foreign boards.

The Sixth Form buiding is a three storey complex with its own laboratories, library, computer room and games rooms.


facebook youtube twitter flickr